Local AngloINFO


The world is my home

National Public Holidays in Indonesia

Find out when the Indonesian public holidays fall throughout the year...

  • When a public holiday falls on a Thursday or Tuesday, it is common practice for the government to declare a bridge holiday (cuti bersama or "Shared Holiday by Government Decree"), by taking off the Friday or Monday creating a long weekend
  • Public holidays that fall on the weekend are not moved to another date
  • Official public holidays are announced in the summer of each year, for the following year, although the date of Islamic holidays may not be confirmed until a few days before as these are based on the lunar calendar. Following the appropriate moon sighting, announcements are made in the national press confirming the official date.
  • Nyepi day (literally, day of silence) is strictly observed on the island of Bali. The airport closes for 24 hours
  • Banks close on 31 December
  • Eid al-Fitr (Idul Fitri) is a national public holiday for the first two days. Banks close for a week and businesses may close for up to two weeks
Public Holidays 2016
  • 1 January - New Year's Day
  • 8 February - Chinese Lunar New Year's Day
  • 9 March - Hindu New Year / Day of Silence (Bali)
  • 25 March - Good Friday
  • 1 May - Labour Day
  • 5 May - Ascension Day (Christian)
  • 6 May - Ascension Day (Muslim)
  • 22 May - Waisak Day (Buddha's Anniversary)
  • 17 August - Indonesian Independence Day
  • 12 September - Muslim Day of Sacrifice (Idul Adha)
  • 2 October - Muharram/Islamic New Year
  • 12 December - Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
  • 25 December - Christmas Day


Looking for an international business opportunity? Why not run an AngloINFO site?
AngloINFO is growing fast and is looking for the right people to take on regional AngloINFO franchises around the world - click here to find out more!

AngloINFO Franchising: Be your own boss - where you want to be!